Alison Maggioncalda - Private Tutor in West London

 Alison Maggioncalda Private Tutor in West London

I graduated from Stanford University in 2014 with a degree in Human Biology -- my area of concentration is Cultural Neuroscience, an interdisciplinary field combining anthropology, psychology, and neurobiology. Though I majored in Human Biology, I also excelled in all my other courses (English, math, chemistry), earning above a 4.0 upon graduation. After university, I taught in the Human Biology department at Stanford, teaching courses such as Human Evolution, Child Psychology and Development, and Health and Environmental Policy. For the past two years, I have been working at a customer experience tech start-up, and I am now pursuing an MA in Service Design at the Royal College of Art.

Subjects I Teach

ACT
Anthropology
Chemistry
College Counseling (US)
English
Essay brainstorming and editing
History
Math
Natural Sciences
Psychology
SAT
Statistics

My Education & Qualifications

  • School: Stanford University
    4.0+ GPA, BA in Human Biology, Minor in African Studies
  • School: Royal College of Art
    MA in Service Design (current)

My Tutoring & Teaching Experience

During my gap year before university, I lived in Kenya and Indonesia tutoring in English, math, and science. During university, I was the Academic Theme Advisor for the Human Biology house. After university, I spent a full year teaching Stanford sophomores in the Human Biology core. The courses spanned Biology, Sociology, History, Anthropology, Psychology, Economics, and Policy. I absolutely love teaching, particularly in a 1-on-1 context.

My Approach to Tutoring

My approach to tutoring is to start with questions. In my view, that is the only way to assess the student's current understanding -- sometimes they are already halfway there! Then, I take the aspect that wasn't quite right and try to ask more questions in an attempt to lead the student to the right answer, but using their own thought-processes, so that on an exam, they are able to reason through it themselves. I have been told that I have a gift for communication, and I able able to cater a message to the learning style of my audience (visuals, storytelling, mnemonics, etc.)

Fun Facts About Me

A few fun facts about me -- 1) I was the director of a student hip hop dance crew in college 2) I have studied Indonesian and Swahili languages 3) I am the oldest of 9 grandkids :)