Charlotte Burford - Private Tutor in London and Surrey

Charlotte Burford Private Tutor in London and Surrey

I have been tutoring in the private sector since 2007. Whilst completing my studies I had experience tutoring mathematics for ages 12-16 (including GCSE). During my gap year I worked as a cover supervisor at Simon Langton Girls' Grammar school where I had experience teaching mathematics to Year 8 (12-13 years old) and to a GCSE class. I also had experience teaching Core 1 (AS mathematics model) to a group of highly able students who were taking the exam a year early. Whilst completing my degree I had further experience tutoring GCSE mathematics.

I attended Girton College at the University of Cambridge and studied on the Natural Science Tripos. She took modules in mathematics, chemistry, material science, biochemistry, psychology, neurobiology and physiology. My specialist interest was in physiology and my final year project explored the development of the human middle ear bones. I recently completed a Masters in Clinical Neuroscience at King's College London in which I achieved a distinction and was awarded the Gold Medal for achieving the highest mark in the year. I have since returned to King's to undertake their four year graduate medicine course. I took A-Levels in Mathematics, Further Mathematics, Chemistry, Biology and Physics as well as a AS Level in Ancient Greek.

I am passionate about tutoring mathematics as believe the analytical and problem solving skills it develops are crucial for a whole range of academic disciplines or careers. In my spare time I am a keen cyclist and I race for King's College London Cycling Club of which I was also the 2015-2016 President.

Subjects I Teach

My Education & Qualifications

  • King's College London, 20152019
    Graduate Entry Medicine (ongoing): Distinction in Medical Sciences in first year exams
  • King's College London, 20142015
    Clinical Neuroscience (MSc): Distinction
  • University of Cambridge, 20112014
    Natural Sciences (BA (Hons)): 2:1 (1st in years 1 and 2, Barbara Bodichon Scholar)
  • School: Simon Langton Girls' Grammar School
    5 A* A-Levels in Maths, Further Maths, Physics, Chemistry and Biology Connie Groves Prize for Outstanding Contribution

My Tutoring & Teaching Experience

I have been tutoring since 2007 and have had experience teaching both GCSE and A-Level Maths, Chemistry, Biology and Physics. I prefer to tutor students over an extended period of time as I feel it is important to help them establish good study practices which contribute to better future learning as well as an improvement in their current grade. However I have also had experience tutoring students intensely before examinations. During my gap year I also gained experience teaching classes of approximately 30 students in GCSE, A-Level and key stage 3 mathematics.

My Approach to Tutoring

I feel it is important for mathematics and science that students develop a basic understanding of core concepts so that when they move on to more challenging material they can start to work out answers for themselves using first principles. In order to help students develop this understanding I tend to ask lots of questions and help students to reach the answers on their own. In my experience this approach helps increase retention of information and encourages students to share their thought process aloud. I think this is a particularly useful skill for university interviews, particularly Oxbridge, where admissions tutors want to understand how you approach problems not just the solution.

Fun Facts About Me

In my spare time I am a keen bike racer and compete for the university and a regional and national level.

My Client Testimonials

  • Maths - Key Stage 3
    "My daughter was really struggling with maths when she started secondary school. Sessions with Charlotte not only helped her understand the material but also gave her a love for the subject."
  • Science - GCSE
    "My son was an able student who wanted to improve his grade from a B to an A. Charlotte helped him with his approach to revision and showed him tips and tricks for making things easier to learn."
  • Mathematics
    "I needed to revise some basic GCSE mathematics principles for an assessment centre. Charlotte was good at adapting her teaching so it fitted around the way I understood the questions and how I remembered approaching them"
  • Mathematics
    "I believe that with your help and support my daughter managed to improve her studying skills achieving great results. She not only did very well in her math exams but she also got the highest overall grade in her year!"
  • Mathematics - A-Level Mechanics
    "Charlotte was excellent at providing resources for my son's retake exam and marked his work in between sessions so he could have another go at any he didn't get right. This forced him to go through his answers and work out where he was going wrong - I think this was a very useful experience."
  • Mathematics - A-Level Mechanics
    "I really enjoyed my sessions with Charlotte "

Similar Tutors to Charlotte Burford

You may also be interested to view some profiles of our tutors who are similar to Charlotte Burford. Alternatively please feel free to contact us to discuss your tutoring needs, and how Wentworth Tutors and Charlotte Burford can help you and your family achieve your goals.

Otherwise, you can read about our tutor selection criteria, or read about Wentworth Tutors' philosophy and approach in a letter to parents from Dr Katherine Wiles, our Founder. You can also see more tutor profiles on our tutors listing page, where you can filter by subject.

I graduated from Durham University in 2012 with a degree in Natural Sciences, specialising in Biology and Psychology. Shortly after graduating, I moved to London to begin work as a Medical Writer. This involved writing a variety of documents for the pharmaceutical industry for new or developing medical drugs.

In 2015 I made the change into teaching. I studied teaching with Goldsmith's University and specialised in Secondary Science. For two years I have been a professional Science teacher based in South East London. I teach pupils aged 11-18, teaching Chemistry, Biology and Physics to GCSE and Biology A-level. I am an enthusiastic and committed teacher and am passionate about helping young people to understand and enjoy science. I encourage pupils to think on their own, scaffolding their learning and slowly taking away training wheels so they have the confidence and self-belief to make progress on their own. ...
I studied Natural Sciences at Pembroke College, Cambridge graduating with a II.I in my Chemistry Master’s and with a first in my Bachelor’s in Natural Sciences. Throughout my four years at Cambridge University, I was awarded the BP prize for Chemistry as well as three Foundation Scholarship awards. Before Cambridge I attended King’s College School, Wimbledon where I completed the International Baccalaureate Diploma, achieving 45 points. Prior to that, I studied at The Tiffin Girls' School where I went on to achieve straight A* in my GCSE's.

I have tutored Chemistry HL & SL, Biology HL and Maths HL to students attending revision camps as well as privately in person or over Skype. ...
I have been studying with degree level students for years and find tailoring concepts and processes to an individual’s interests exciting. I’m patient and disciplined and enjoy the reward of helping students move past plateaus in their learning, and with a diverse background in many subject areas I can adapt lessons and study to a wide range of individual needs. ...
I have been tutoring in London ever since I graduated from the University of Oxford in 2013 with an undergraduate degree in Biological Sciences. ...
My passion for tutoring stems from my own personal experience with understanding the impact that excellent teachers can have on our lives. At Winchester College, the leadership and inspiration of my teachers motivated me to succeed, and is reflected in my consistently strong academic record. Having now graduated with a First Class BA in Natural Sciences from Cambridge and successfully completed an MSc in Environmental Technology from Imperial College London, I am keen to share my understanding and passion of the sciences and mathematics with new students. ...
I grew up in Devon and went to a local Grammar School, where I first started tutoring whilst studying for my A-levels. I went on to study Mathematics at Trinity College, Cambridge, graduating in 2013 with an MA (1st-class) and MMATH (Merit). I was offered a place at Warwick University to study for my PhD, but ended up changing fields. I am now studying Medicine on an accelerated graduate entry program at Barts and the London School of Medicine, graduating in 2018.

Although I've ended my own career in Maths for now I have never lost my passion for the subject, and enjoy continuing this through tutoring. I've worked with students of all abilities, with the bulk of my experience tutoring Maths and Physics at A-level and GCSE standard. I also tutor Biology and Chemistry, drawing on the past two years I have spent studying Medicine. Studying Medicine has enhanced my tutoring ability, as we spend a considerable amount of time developing our communication skills. ...
I graduated from Trinity College, Cambridge in 2013 in Natural Sciences (specialising in chemistry) and went straight onto the Teach First graduate programme. For the past three years, I have taught science at Essa Academy in Bolton to students with a vast range of abilities and levels of engagement and have led on engaging and challenging gifted and talented students looking to apply to the top universities.

I am a professional, enthusiastic and committed teacher who is passionate about sharing knowledge and experience with students of all ages and abilities. At Essa, I strive to instil in my students a determination to succeed and a confidence in their own abilities that allows them to maximise their potential – qualities that I have transferred to tutoring with great success. ...
I'm a graduate medical student at King's College London, having previously studied Biomedical Science as an undergraduate at Imperial College London.

I have experience in teaching maths and biology (and tap dancing!). In addition, I've spent time working with children as a nanny, and volunteering at youth and children's groups, both in the UK and abroad. I am passionate about releasing the potential in every student, with a particular focus on building confidence and nurturing a love of learning. ...
I am currently medical student in St George's London, and I studied Natural Sciences in Cambridge. I have over 3 years experience teaching a broad range of subjects up to and including A level mathematics and science. I take a personal approach to tutoring, adapting my teaching style to each individual student to help them reach their full potential. ...
My name is Sasha and I'm a graduate student of medicine at King's College London. I completed an undergraduate degree, and Masters, in chemistry (with chemical biology). I have been tutoring for the past 6 years, across a range of subjects and levels; my aim is always to broaden and develop my students' understanding of their subject, before going on to develop exam technique and build confidence. ...