Scarlett Maguire - Private Tutor in London

 Scarlett Maguire Private Tutor in London

I have experience teaching a range of ages, both privately part-time and in full time employment as a teacher at Hurstpierpoint College, where I worked for a year before starting my degree at Oxford University. I have a particular interest in entrance into the UK's top schools and Universities, teaching 11 plus, Common Entrance, and preparing students for Oxbridge. I am aided by a detailed understanding of UK independent schools as well as experience preparing for the American education system at ISEE and SSAT level in particular. I have delivered private tuition to children between 5 and 20 years. I find tutoring immensely rewarding and particularly enjoy the focused nature of assisting an individual with their academic goals.

Subjects I Teach

English
Geography
History
ISEE
ISEEs
Mathematics
Music
Non-Verbal Reasoning
SAT
SSAT
Verbal Reasoning
interview practice

My Education & Qualifications

  • University of Oxford, 20122015
    English Language and Literature (BA): 2:1
  • School: Brighton College

My Tutoring & Teaching Experience

I worked at the English public school, Hurstpierpoint College, from August 2011-March 2012 as a full time, residential teacher. I mostly worked with boys and girls aged 8-13 years. I held a broad range of roles within this job, pastoral and educational. She taught small groups music theory across a range of standards, with the goal of creating more interest in a subject the children tended to consider dull. With older pupils (13-18), I worked with struggling students in their music lessons, and found it incredibly enjoyable to watch and help their progress in particular. I was the accompanist for the prep school, which involved working closely on a one-to-one basis with children either performing for exams or concerts. This involved helping them with their nerves and encouraging as much as, if not more, than playing the piano for them. As well as being the Organist for the weekly chapel services, I also helped out with sports team and performed my pastoral duties as fitting a boarding school. Perhaps my favourite part of this job came with her role as the 9-13 year old girls choir mistress. I swelled the membership and interest in the choir significantly, determined to make it a fun as well as challenging activity, and not just something which would diminish their play-time over the lunch break. I really enjoyed getting to know these girls and taking on board their suggestions to keep lessons both relevant and stimulating.

I am an 11 plus specialist and have never failed to help a student gain admission to one of their top choice schools including but not limited to St Paul’s, Goldophin, Wycombe Abbey, Latymer Upper, North London Collegiate, SHSG, City of London School for Girls and Cheltenham Ladies College.

I also specialize in entrance at 13 plus and have helped students prepare across all aspects of their admission to Eton, Winchester, Sevenoaks, Westminster and St Paul's. I have prepared several students for humanities at Oxbridge, including Pro Bono work which I thoroughly enjoy.

I also have a brilliant record tutoring ISEE and SSAT for entrance into top American and international schools across lower, middle and upper level.

Having achieved the top GCSEs in my region I prepare students for their examinations and have helped students rise from a C grade to A*s in their final exams. Similarly I am have had lots of experiences helping students to improve and engage more with humanities A Levels.

Example Previous Teaching Assignments

10 year old, Eton preparation
From September-December 2011, I met regularly with a ten year old boy to help him prepare for entrance to Eton, specifically for him to pass his grade 5 music theory to make his CV more impressive. He had an aptitude for music, however had never had any formal teaching for music theory. In this short period, I worked with him through the five grades in stages until he passed with merit at the end of the year. The student’s mother was impressed that I had taught him successfully in such a short period of time for such a young child. I Thoroughly enjoyed the experience and found it rewarding watching a bright and capable child react well to being challenged and working through any difficulties he had.

GCSE English, C grade to A*
In the spring of 2012, I tutored a boy for GCSE English, a student at Brighton College. He was not doing particularly well, mostly achieving Cs in any past papers, so I was employed to try and guarantee him a B. I worked with him closely, quickly realising his main problem with the literature, language, and creative writing was a lack of confidence. Together we t developed strategies from past papers, which he quickly took on board helping to give him more self- assurance when answering English GCSE questions. I was very happy to learn in August 2012 that he got A*s in both his English GCSEs. She also helped and talked to 12 year old boys preparing for the Common Entrance to Brighton College.

Oxbridge applications
In the past years I have revisited Brighton College, talking to sixth form pupils applying to Oxbridge.I have helped them both in preparing for the entrance exams and in practice interviews. I have also always enjoyed the opportunity to look after children, and when babysitting has always made an effort to create fun activities (sports, music, games) to get to know as opposed to merely watch over the children concerned. I have also done pro bono work in this area to help teenagers from teach first schools in London.

14 plus and 16 plus entrance to Stowe
I have successfully tutored pupils for both the 14 plus and 16 plus exams for Stowe

American School London
I have been acting as a mentor and tutor for a girl currently in 7th grade at the American school, and has improved her grades across the board as well as upping her confidence.

13 plus common entrance (home schooled)
I home-schooled boy at Handcross Park school across English, Maths and Science, for his common entrance, for which he gained a place at Sevenoaks.

8 plus
I have done a lot of work for 8 plus, with two pupils gaining places at King's College Wimbledon.

English Language GCSE and UKISET
I have done a mixture of intensive work over short periods and work throughout the year to prepare students in English language, all her students have met with great success.

10 plus tuition King’s College Wimbledon
I have been working with two families preparing their sons for 10 plus admission to King’s college Wimbledon, across maths, English, and verbal reasoning. They have both made dramatic improvements and look set to be accepted for entrance into year 6

11 plus tuition for St Paul’s, Goldophin, Wycombe Abbey, Latymer Upper, North London Collegiate
I have been working closely with several preparing for the entrance process for St Paul’s and Godolphin, specifically with maths. They have all made huge improvement and have got into excellent schools.

A Level media studies
Extensive support across the coursework and exam requirements

A Level English
I have very successful experience working with students, covering both the OCR and AQA boards as well as PRE-U

GCSE English
I have tutored several students through both language and literature gcse coursework, as well as the exams.

My Approach to Tutoring

My approach to tutoring starts with the individual needs of the student. Every student is different and they all require a nuanced approach to make the most progress for themselves. The most important aspect of my tutoring is to build and maintain confidence in every area of learning - I believe that there is nothing that someone can't do at school level if they believe they can. I combine this with deconstructing exams and exam technique so that it seems more manageable, and a rigorous approach to mark schemes whilst retaining and inspiring a love of learning.

Fun Facts About Me

As the daughter of a history academic, I have always enjoyed and been interested in the processes of both learning and teaching, especially in regards to encouraging others to share her love of literature. In m spare time outside of tutoring, Scarlett appreciates music, sport and art history. From the ages of 13-18 years, Scarlett has attended a music conservatoire in London on the weekends, eventually becoming lead cellist of their orchestra, winning national titles for chamber music as well as school music competitions. I am also a keen pianist and organist. As Captain of the Oxford University Blues Fives team, I not only led the team but made regular public speeches at dinners such as the Varsity Match. My other main love is Art History, having completed with flying colours the British Institute of Florence’s Renaissance Art History Course.

My Client Testimonials

  • ISEE
    "We would certainly recommend Scarlett to friends and colleagues."
  • ISEE
    "We were very happy we both were with the lessons."
  • ISEE
    "once meeting Scarlett and seeing his interaction with her I felt incredibly comfortable and knew we had done the right thing by him."
  • Maths
    "Scarlett built up his confidence in his math which he has always had issues with. He is capable but didn’t believe it himself. Sometimes you just need that one teacher that makes it all fall into place and Scarlett was that for him at this time. "
  • 11 plus
    "Scarlett is just what I have been looking for. She is perfect. I have been searching for someone for years! "
  • A Levels
    " I was very impressed with Scarlett and she put me a total ease about my upcoming exam. She came fully prepared with past papers and examiner reports as well as a notebook which she had made notes in for the lesson. Scarlett also had a great knowledge of my exam and what it entails as she did exactly the same board as me for her exam. "