Polina Sosnina - Private Tutor in London

 Polina Sosnina Private Tutor in London

I graduated from Magdalene College, Cambridge in June 2017 with an MSc (1st class) and BA (1st class) in Natural Sciences. During my time at Cambridge, I was awarded the Natural Sciences Prize from Magdalene College in 2016 and 2017 for achieving outstanding results, as well as the Macfarlane-Grieve Prize and Garrett Prize for music. I have been tutoring since 2011 both privately and as a volunteer, specialising mostly in Mathematics and Music. Whilst my tutoring approach is results focused and I have a successful track record for raising students' attainment grades, I enjoy the scope private tuition offers for tailored teaching that helps students learn effectively and think beyond a mark scheme.

Subjects I Teach

My Education & Qualifications

  • University of Cambridge, 20162017
    Natural Sciences (MSc): 1st
  • University of Cambridge, 20132016
    Natural Sciences (BA): 1st
  • School: Thetford Grammar School
    I completed six A levels to A* grade (Maths, Further Maths, Biology, Chemistry, Physics, Music) as well as several music qualifications including a DipABRSM in Piano Performance and ABRSM Grade 8 in Music Theory and Singing.

My Tutoring & Teaching Experience

I developed an enjoyment of teaching at a relatively young age through tutoring my home-schooled brother, who is six years my junior, a variety of subjects leading up to his entrance exam for the Perse School, Cambridge. More formally, I have tutored Maths, Chemistry and Physics since 2013 both privately and as a volunteer for STIMULUS - a community service programme giving students the opportunity to work with pupils in local schools, helping with Maths, Science, Computing or Technology lessons - teaching a range of abilities up to A level. I have also been tutoring music theory and performance (on the piano and organ) since 2011 through a Norfolk-based charity called the Thetford Music Project and privately, working with a range of ages from 3-17 years old.

My Approach to Tutoring

My tutoring style, whilst results focused and exam driven, aims to ensure that a student's education does not begin and end with their examinations. By asking students questions and encouraging them to articulate their learning process, I create an active learning environment that requires students to work out a solution rather than simply memorising the steps to solve a particular problem. I help my students develop a logical and structured approach to their work which I hope they can continue to apply to their future learning.

Fun Facts About Me

Although I read Natural Sciences, my university years were defined mostly by a love of music. I was Organ Scholar at Magdalene College for three years, after which I took on the Graduate Organ Scholarship at the Church of Our Lady and the English Martyrs and became organist for St John's Voices. I'm now Assistant Director of Music at St Thomas' Church, Brentwood, and hope to continue working as a professional organist.

I'm also a keen climber and was co-president of my college's Climbing Society in my final year at university. I recently went on my first sport climbing expedition to Mallorca. Hopefully, it will be the first of many!

My Client Testimonials

  • Grade 3 Singing
    "Polina Sosnina is a very dedicated, passionate and organised teacher who takes a holistic approach to teaching. She is kind and very approachable. Her lessons are always well prepared. Since starting singing lessons with Polina my daughter’s confidence has grown which has helped socially and in school. She now sings all the time! My daughter really enjoys her lessons and is always looking forward to the next! It is great seeing my daughter improve week by week. Thank you Polina ! I can highly recommend Polina for any child who loves music and singing."
  • Grade 5 Music Theory
    "Polina started teaching my daughter piano at the beginning of September this year and she has already made inroads into her preparation for her theory exam, through her unique style of teaching. She is an excellent teacher. She explains theory a lot better, in a structured manner, with good examples. She is happy to go over difficult areas several times until the student grasps it. She has helped my daughter to understand the features of certain kinds of music, such as baroque, classical and romantic, which is useful not only for her piano exam but also for her GCSE music curriculum. She gives moral support when needed - be it arranging mock exams for the student to improve her/his confidence before an exam or going the extra mile to accompany the student to the exam venue on the day of the exam. I highly recommend her."

Similar Tutors to Polina Sosnina

You may also be interested to view some profiles of our tutors who are similar to Polina Sosnina. Alternatively please feel free to contact us to discuss your tutoring needs, and how Wentworth Tutors and Polina Sosnina can help you and your family achieve your goals.

Otherwise, you can read about our tutor selection criteria, or read about Wentworth Tutors' philosophy and approach in a letter to parents from Dr Katherine Wiles, our Founder. You can also see more tutor profiles on our tutors listing page, where you can filter by subject.

I studied Natural Sciences at Pembroke College, Cambridge graduating with a II.I in my Chemistry Master’s and with a first in my Bachelor’s in Natural Sciences. Throughout my four years at Cambridge University, I was awarded the BP prize for Chemistry as well as three Foundation Scholarship awards. Before Cambridge I attended King’s College School, Wimbledon where I completed the International Baccalaureate Diploma, achieving 45 points. Prior to that, I studied at The Tiffin Girls' School where I went on to achieve straight A* in my GCSE's.

I have tutored Chemistry HL & SL, Biology HL and Maths HL to students attending revision camps as well as privately in person or over Skype. ...
I have been tutoring in the private sector since 2007. Whilst completing my studies I had experience tutoring mathematics for ages 12-16 (including GCSE). During my gap year I worked as a cover supervisor at Simon Langton Girls' Grammar school where I had experience teaching mathematics to Year 8 (12-13 years old) and to a GCSE class. I also had experience teaching Core 1 (AS mathematics model) to a group of highly able students who were taking the exam a year early. Whilst completing my degree I had further experience tutoring GCSE mathematics.

I attended Girton College at the University of Cambridge and studied on the Natural Science Tripos. She took modules in mathematics, chemistry, material science, biochemistry, psychology, neurobiology and physiology. My specialist interest was in physiology and my final year project explored the development of the human middle ear bones. I recently completed a Masters in Clinical Neuroscience at King's College London in which I achieved a distinction and was awarded the Gold Medal for achieving the highest mark in the year. I have since returned to King's to undertake their four year graduate medicine course. I took A-Levels in Mathematics, Further Mathematics, Chemistry, Biology and Physics as well as a AS Level in Ancient Greek.

I am passionate about tutoring mathematics as believe the analytical and problem solving skills it develops are crucial for a whole range of academic disciplines or careers. In my spare time I am a keen cyclist and I race for King's College London Cycling Club of which I was also the 2015-2016 President. ...
I have been tutoring in London ever since I graduated from the University of Oxford in 2013 with an undergraduate degree in Biological Sciences. ...
I have been studying with degree level students for years and find tailoring concepts and processes to an individual’s interests exciting. I’m patient and disciplined and enjoy the reward of helping students move past plateaus in their learning, and with a diverse background in many subject areas I can adapt lessons and study to a wide range of individual needs. ...
I grew up in Devon and went to a local Grammar School, where I first started tutoring whilst studying for my A-levels. I went on to study Mathematics at Trinity College, Cambridge, graduating in 2013 with an MA (1st-class) and MMATH (Merit). I was offered a place at Warwick University to study for my PhD, but ended up changing fields. I am now studying Medicine on an accelerated graduate entry program at Barts and the London School of Medicine, graduating in 2018.

Although I've ended my own career in Maths for now I have never lost my passion for the subject, and enjoy continuing this through tutoring. I've worked with students of all abilities, with the bulk of my experience tutoring Maths and Physics at A-level and GCSE standard. I also tutor Biology and Chemistry, drawing on the past two years I have spent studying Medicine. Studying Medicine has enhanced my tutoring ability, as we spend a considerable amount of time developing our communication skills. ...
I am currently medical student in St George's London, and I studied Natural Sciences in Cambridge. I have over 3 years experience teaching a broad range of subjects up to and including A level mathematics and science. I take a personal approach to tutoring, adapting my teaching style to each individual student to help them reach their full potential. ...
I graduated from the University of Edinburgh in 2014 with a 1st class degree in English literature and Philosophy. During my degree, I spent a year studying at the University of California, Berkeley, which has given me an extensive understanding of the US college academic system. I have been teaching for the past 4 years, both privately - with a specialisation in English literature and language 11+ to A level, and in the non-profit sector, working as an academic support worker for the educational charity Into University. Most recently, I spent 2 years living in Mexico, teaching English to all ages, both privately and in a classroom setting. All of these experiences have given me a detailed understanding of the unique learning dynamics of different students, aged 5 to 50! I enjoy tutoring immensely, tailoring lessons to my students' interests, defining learning goals together helping to realise them, and making the learning process as enjoyable as possible. ...
I'm a graduate medical student at King's College London, having previously studied Biomedical Science as an undergraduate at Imperial College London.

I have experience in teaching maths and biology (and tap dancing!). In addition, I've spent time working with children as a nanny, and volunteering at youth and children's groups, both in the UK and abroad. I am passionate about releasing the potential in every student, with a particular focus on building confidence and nurturing a love of learning. ...
Hello! I'm Elliott once an aerospace engineer turned entrepreneur. I hope that my broad range of experience can help not only with maths and science, but also with helping you sell yourself as best as possible whether it is a job application, presentation or simply improving CV's to make them stand out to a potential employer.

After completing my degree in Engineering Science at Oxford University (Brasenose College), I joined Rolls-Royce on their engineering graduate scheme. during my time there, I was lucky enough to be selected to move to Singapore, where I discovered my passion for Asia!

After Rolls-Royce, I founded a technology company called MapSit (now www.maple.tech) which began as a social app to help people find their friends, and has now become a people management platform for real estate businesses.

I am now setting up a new company which helps create, source and bring new products to market in innovative ways. ...